John McCarthy AO

John McCarthy AO

Chairman, AEH Property

John V. McCarthy is Chairman of AEH Property, which governs all property activities of the Group.

He brings over 35 years of property experience to AEH and he is chairman of Playoust Churcher Architects and Chairman of the Village Building Co Limited, in which AEH has an investment.

John’s professional roles have included CEO of ANZ Property Investment and Advisory Services and Colonial Mutual Properties. He is the former Managing Director of Tasman Properties and former National President of the Property Council of Australia.

Previous appointments include Adjunct Professor (Built Environment) at QUT, Chairman of the Co-operative Research Centre – Construction Innovation; Chairman Catholic Care Property (NSW); Chairman ICON Net Pty Ltd; Former Chairman appointed by the Federal Government of the Strategic Industry Leaders Group – Facilities Management Action Agenda; Director appointed by the Federal Government of the Australian Building Codes Board, and; Director International College of Management Advisory Board.

In 2010 John was elected President of the International Council for Research and Innovation in Building and Construction (Conseil International du Bâfiment”). CIB was established in 1953 with the support of the United Nations, as an association whose objectives were to stimulate and facilitate international collaboration and information exchange between governmental research institutes in the building and construction sector.

John is a Fellow Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors, Fellow Australian Property Institute, Fellow Real Estate Institute, Fellow Real Estate Agents and Valuers, Honorary Life Member Property Council of Australia and Honorary Life Member Facilities Management Association.

In 2009 John was awarded the Order of Australia for service to the property and construction industries, particularly through leadership roles in peak bodies, and through promotion of co-operation, research and innovation.

John has been working with AEH since 2000.